“Recent Developments in the Theory of Topological Systems”

Mini-symposium organized jointly by: MagTop Warsaw, Institute of Physics UMCS & Lublin Branch of Polish Physical Society

Topological materials, such as insulators and superconductors, are qualitatively distinct from their ordinary counterparts, as has been profoundly evidenced by their in-gap modes. Such quasiparticles, emerging at the boundaries or internal defects, are topologically protected and reveal fractional character, which makes them appealing candidates for stable qubits and/or quantum computation. This mini-symposium aims to bring renowned experts of this discipline from across Poland together to discuss recent state-of-the-art achievements concerning the realization of the localized (dim=1) or propagating (dim=2) edge modes in various topological structures. This event will focus on theoretical challenges with a purpose to establish collaboration on such topics between Polish research groups.

List of Participants:
Carmine Autieri (MagTop, Warsaw)
Bartłomiej Baran (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Magdalena Barańska (Polish Air Force Academy, Dęblin)
Jan Barański (Polish Air Force Academy, Dęblin)
Wojciech Brzezicki (MagTop, Warsaw)
Tadeusz Domański (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Szczepan Głodzik (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Grzegorz Górski (University of Rzeszów)
Timo Hyart (MagTop, Warsaw)
Ghulam Hussein (MagTop, Warsaw)
Rajibul Islam (MagTop, Warsaw)
Aksel Kobiałka (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Mariusz Krawiec (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Damian Krychowski (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poznań)
Arkadiusz Kuroś (Jagiellonian University, Kraków)
Marcin Kurpas (University of Silesia, Katowice)
Alexander Lau (MagTop, Warsaw)
Piotr Majek (A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań)
Tomasz Masłowski (Technical University, Rzeszów)
Maciej Maśka (University of Silesia, Katowice)
Archana Mishra (MagTop, Warsaw)
Teemu Ojanen (Tampere University, Finland)
Marcin Płodzień (MagTop, Warsaw)
Andrzej Ptok (Polish Academy of Sciences, Kraków)
Nicholas Sedlmayr (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)
Mircea Trif (MagTop, Warsaw)
Jakub Tworzydło (Warsaw University)
Andrzej Więckowski (University of Technology, Wrocław)
Ireneusz Weymann (A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań)
Kacper Wrześniewski (A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań)
Marcin M. Wysokiński (MagTop, Warsaw)
Karol I. Wysokiński (M. Curie-Skłodowska Univ., Lublin)

When: The mini-symposium will start on 12th December (Thursday) and will terminate on 13th December (Friday). Lecturers will give 20-minute informal presentations, addressing the scientific issues and specifying open problems related to them.

Where: The symposium will take place in the Institute of Physics at the Marie Curie-Skłodowska University, Lublin. There is no conference fee. All interested participants are welcome. For more detailed information contact: Tadeusz.Domanski@umcs.lublin.pl or Timo.Hyart@MagTop.ifpan.edu.pl.

Accomodation: We have booked the single-person rooms for external participants in the hotel Campanile Lublin and expenses of one – night stay (12/13 Dec) will be covered by the Marie Curie-Skłodowska University.